A Blank Canvas Has Unlimited Possibilities.

Playing around with the different online graphic creation tools was interesting and frustrating for this project. I feel that I am pretty tech savvy, and if there is an interface or system I don’t know how to use, I tinker with it until I can. Honestly, I like the systems that are easy and straightforward to use and don’ take too much tinkering time to figure out how to use them. For me, that system was Canva, and that was what I ended up using to build my graphic about what I’ve learned throughout my ILP.

I initially tried Piktochart, but for me it just seemed too time consuming to figure out. I also noticed right off of the bat that they only had 3 kids of layouts: an info-graphic, presentation, or printable. Unfortunately, none of the layouts were really what I was looking for, and the options within those categories were not what I was looking for.

After feeling as if I had a “fail” on the previous website, I chose to go to Canva. Right away I knew that this was the platform that I was going to use to complete my visual graphic. I liked it so much because there were many more subcategories there than there were in Piktochart. You could create graphics for social media posts all the way to blogging and e-books. Also, within those categories there were multiple designs and layouts you could choose. The endless variety of options and the fact that you could personalize it quickly and efficiently sold me on this website.

When I went to actually make my graphic, I just used a pre-made layout, and added my own text about what I have learned through my ILP. I loved the text, and the fact that it had space for 3 pictures. I was able to add what I had learned through my ILP and why I liked giving back to people as well. It wasn’t long but it was exactly what I needed for this project. I loved that you could upload personal photos, add different styles of text, as well as icons and shapes. All of these different options, as well as the ease of use is what really sold me on Canva in the end.

0001-42(1)

With how much I loved working with Canva I believe that this is a tool that is easily integrated into the classroom. Instead of using the standard PowerPoint, you could use Canva or Piktochart, depending on what you’re presenting, to be a presentation aide. This gives students more creative freedom in what they are making. I think this is also a more modern spin on PowerPoint. It’s also free, and easy to sign up, this is something that I know I would definitely use in the future.

14 thoughts on “A Blank Canvas Has Unlimited Possibilities.

  1. mackennamarie says:

    I love how you compared the site to PowerPoint. I think that encouraging students to continue finding more creative ways to share their knowledge is really important as a teacher. I also like how you took your “failure” and kept going, mentioning that to your students would be a great motivator for them! Great post!

    Like

  2. ashlynhansondiglit says:

    Hillary,
    I had similar experiences with Piktochart and then Canva. After looking at both, I just decided that Canva would be the best fit for what I was trying to accomplish. I also loved how many different templates there were that could be used to make so many things. The process of creating this graphic was fun and easy, and I absolutely see myself using Canva in my future classroom!

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Ashlyn,
      I’m totally with you, Canva just ended up being perfect for what I was trying to do on so many different levels. I think that the ease of use also swayed my ultimate decision to use it!

      Like

  3. barnardeducationblog says:

    I agree when you mentioned Canva VS PowerPoint. Canva and Piktochart add way more visual attention to anything! Whenever I’m on Pinterest, Twitter, or Facebook, I always wondered how people made cute pictures for adds and visuals. I’m assuming these 2 apps were used for some! nice to know how I can create my own!

    Like

  4. kelseaprieels says:

    I really enjoyed reading your blog! I also used canva and loved it because it was so easy to understand and manipulate the templates. I think this would be an awesome app to use in our future classrooms because students will be able to do the same things as powerpoint and make it look even better. I think students would really be successful using these apps.

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Thanks Kelsea! I agree, the ease of use was awesome and helped the whole experience! I will hopefully be able to incorporate these apps in the classroom, I believe it breaks up the monotony from using platforms such as PowerPoint for every presentation, or as the only option.

      Like

  5. blogwithkel says:

    I should take some lessons from you. If I do not know how something works, I just get frustrated and quit. I got to get that figured out. Anyway, this was a great post! I think you nailed it and really grasped the idea of graphic design.
    Keep up the good work!

    Like

  6. vmfank says:

    Hillary,
    I love your graphic! You did a great job! You are a wonderful person and I am glad that I have gotten to know you over the past few years. You are a very generous person and I am not surprised that giving to other is what makes you happy! You are going to be a wonderful teacher!

    Like

Leave a Reply

