F is for Friends Who Do Stuff Together.

As I mentioned last week in my ILP I am running a half marathon that will take place in May. The cool thing about this race for me is the fact that I get to run it with my best and closest friends. The other really awesome thing is that this is going to be all of their first half marathons that they run! I am the one that convinced them all to run this race/torture run/fun run with me. After thinking about it for a couple of days I felt that it was necessary to show my gratitude, support, and appreciation at the fact that they want to run the half marathon with me.

Although we won’t be going anywhere “fun” for all of their first race together, I wanted to make their first half marathon memorable. The girls that will be running with me are all like my sisters, and one of them actually is, but they have all been by my side through so much. A half marathon is just another notch on the belt for us.

I started searching online for half marathon themed clothes/shirts because I didn’t really know where to start. I looked on Etsy, but I couldn’t really find anything that stood out to me. Finally, after searching on countless websites that didn’t have much I came across Gone For a Run, and I saw that they had personalized state running t-shirts. When I saw these I realized that it was perfect, besides one of my friends, the rest of my sisters live in different cities across Nebraska, I felt as if this shirt represented us perfectly. What I also loved was that I was able to personalize it and add our last names on the back!

tr-13746-TEAL

 

What I also want to do is make each of us a wooden medal hanger board. This is just a place where you can hang your medals and your bibs that you have worn and earned in any races that you’ve ran. Also, it usually has an inspirational quote that goes along with it. I feel as if these two gifts go hand in hand and I feel as if these gifts will get them excited for the half marathon that we will be running. I plan on giving them these gifts the night before we run the half marathon. We will all have the same shirt, but with each of our last names on the back, so one race day we will be able to pick each other out of the crowd if we are close enough.

IMG_1269

The picture above is a previous bib and medal holder that I made for one of my runner friends for her birthday. This is the layout that I want to use to make the bib and medal holders as part of my friends’ presents! The next step is to find individualized quotes for each of my friends that represents them, get the wood and hardware, and then start making the boards. I will hopefully begin this project either in the next few weeks or over Easter break!

10 thoughts on “F is for Friends Who Do Stuff Together.

  1. timmikeisel says:

    First of all, I commend you for running a half marathon! That certainly is too far for my legs to run! Also, those gifts are really thoughtful. I bet your friends will love them! I wish you all the best of luck, and I hope they will run more races with you in the future!

    Like

  2. mackennamarie says:

    I am so excited for you and your support system to run. I know that it isn’t always much fun training but it will feel great when you are done and you can say you ran a half marathon. Your gift ideas are so cute and I think they will appreciate them so much. Can’t wait to hear more about your journey!

    Like

  3. hillarybollish says:

    Thanks, Mackenna! Yes, you are totally right, training is the not so fun part. Actually getting to run the half marathon and crossing the finish line is where all of the awful training pays off. Thanks, I hope that they will like them!

    Like

  4. triciamillerblog says:

    This is so cool! I used to love to run but now thinking running makes me tired. It is cool that you get to do this with friends! I feel like that just makes it 10x better. Best of luck. Love the shirts and the hanger boards by the way!

    Like

  5. hillarybollish says:

    It’s totally a mental thing! If I go into it feeling tired then I most definitely am throughout the whole run! Yes, I agree. Running with my friends makes it that much better and definitely more fun and bearable! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

