Detox from the beast.

I think many of us that have grown up in this digital era have heard something to the effect of, ” you spend too much time on your phone/internet/social media”. I know that growing up this was something that I heard frequently. The 5th grade is when I got my first phone, granted it was a flip phone that had to connect to the internet to get text messages, but still, from then on I was hooked into connectivity. This video definitely emulates how dependent or attached we are to our phones and technology.

Although I have never had a class where there was absolutely no restrictions on phone and tablet use as the students who attend Convent & Stuart Hall experience, I think that all of us who use the internet, social media, or our phones for connection and conversation can understand their feelings of anxiety and nakedness so to speak when we are without our phones. In the day and age that we live in, we can connect to anyone and any social media site, using only our phones. I know that I have felt that feeling before when I accidentally broke my phone or left it at home, that I had no way in getting in contact with anyone, and I sometimes had that panicky feeling that this would be the day that some trouble would arise and I couldn’t get in contact with anyone. Obviously, the chances of that scenario happening are not very large, but this has come to show me how dependent I am even on my my cell phone to make calls and send messages if anything were to happen.

I loved the blog that Leo Babauta wrote about simplifying the internet. Before I started taking this class I had already quit Facebook 6 years ago; I was no longer active on my personal twitter account and was about to delete it, and even now I infrequently post to the personal Instagram account I have. Although I have taken many steps to simplify most of my social media accounts and interactions I also realized that maybe I wasn’t as on top of it as I had previously thought. Although I am on top of my social media uses, I realized that I hadn’t grouped Pinterest into that mix. That is honestly my weakness and where I spend time frequently “browsing” the web. This is something that I am wanting to work on personally.

The internet is not an awful beast that we need to be scared of or completely let go of. It is full of wonderful, vast, and important knowledge that we should utilize. I think all of these articles and videos that we watched had good points in common, restricting our internet/cellphone use will help us connect to others around us on a deeper level. The next time I’m around my friends, husband, or with a group of people I will truly think twice about reaching for my phone to fill the silence in my head.

 

13 thoughts on “Detox from the beast.

  1. ashlynhansondiglit says:

    I really enjoyed the video that you shared, Hillary! So many of us really are missing out on the nothingness! It is crazy how many people I see glued to their phones as they walk through campus every day. It’s impressive that more people don’t crash into each other walking down the sidewalk. I think that there is so much value in being able to sit or walk in silence and maybe even be a little bored. Without it, we never really give ourselves time to be creative and think about things going on outside of our own digital world.

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Thanks Ashlyn, I feel as if it captured the true essence of how dependent on technology as people and a generation we have become. I agree, it’s a little bit crazy that we do not run into things more often since we are so glued to our phones. It’s amazing the things we could accomplish with our nothingness if we let ourselves!

      Like

  2. haleyhanks says:

    Hillary,
    I think it is great that you have simplified your social media usage! My goal is to eventually use all social media accounts professionally only. The internet can be such a great resource for us, but the social media aspect of it has really gotten out of hand. I enjoyed the video you posted, thanks for sharing!
    Haley

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Thanks Haley! I feel as if simplifying it has really let me become more free from social media use. I totally agree, I think that social media could be great for professional use and even personal, but we have gotten to obsessed with knowing what is going on in every corner of the world at every minute!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. blogwithkel says:

    Hillary,
    I loved the video! I think it does a great job of showing just how many people use their phones just walking down the street. I have never thought about the fact that just holding my phone is a problem. Having it at the ready just in case I need it.
    Thanks for Sharing!

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Thanks I really thought the video was awesome as well!I completely agree, I think that we don’t normally really notice this behavior because it is so normalized. The use of technology at every second has become completely normalized, so it’s good to see a video like this that makes us take a step back and realize!
      Hillary

      Like

  4. mindycressdigitalliteracyspring2017 says:

    Hillary, I remember when we were all taking in math class last semester and the shock on everyone’s face that you didn’t have a Facebook account. I think we even tried to convince you to set up an account so we could keep in touch through messenger. Great job with staying strong though our small peer pressure! With the content we have received with this course I regret being so connected to my Facebook and other social media accounts, at times. I am trying to back down and only keep it active to find events in town.
    Great blog this week!

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Haha, I completely forgot about that! To be honest, I was thinking about it. Especially because it’s not only good things that I miss out on with friends but family as well. I feel like as an adult that is part of my purpose is to keep it down on social media and technology, especially because I work with it all day for my job!

      Liked by 1 person

      • mindycressdigitalliteracyspring2017 says:

        It is sad how much information is given through Facebook. The main reason why I still have it is to find yard sales and events taking place within the community. I still think it is awesome that you have been able to go without it for so long!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. kelseaprieels says:

    I think it is awesome that you don’t have Facebook for social media because often times I find it to be more drama than things to see. I really only use my Facebook to keep up with all of my family members, but I hope to one day cut it down or get rid of it completely! I also find myself searching pinterest a lot during the day! It has so many things for you to see! I also think it is good for people to know that the internet isn’t bad, but we need to be using it in the right ways.

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Thanks! The one thing that you use it for that I definitely miss out on is connecting with family! Yes, and I completely agree on the pinterest thing, there is always something new for your to see on their site!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. shaniachannel says:

    Hillary, this was a great blog to read today. I have to admit that I get caught up into my social media accounts and I usually check them right when I get up in the morning. I think I need to work on this! Instead of being on our phones there is so much more to do. Being outdoors is a great way to build yourself up and have a fun time. Your blog made me actually think how many times I log into my accounts and how much time I spend on each.. I need to work on this! I also love Pinterest.

    Shania 🙂

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Thanks, Shania! I think that for many of us, myself included, it’s extremely easy to get caught up on our phones. Literally every piece of social media or technology that we could want is right at the tips of our fingertips. That makes it so easy to check it no matter if we are with other people or bored in the moment. I agree with your outdoors comments. I think that if we just went outside more and left our phones at home that would be a great step towards unplugging more often!
      Hillary

      Like

Leave a Reply

