Who is Responsible?

In today’s day and age technology is evolving and taking over the classroom with an overwhelming pace. Educators and students alike use social media sites to communicate, teach, and learn. Before researching further into Digital Citizenship, I wasn’t aware that some school districts taught Digital Citizenship. Come to think of it, I believe that all schools should teach Digital Citizenship to their students. Students utilize school internet and computers, and should be taught how to behave ethically online; not only in school but at home as well.

Many times I feel as if students don’t understand how impactful the content they post online can be. The TedTalk above by Juan Enriquez uses colorful and expansive metaphors so that you can understand the permanence and seriousness of the content that you put online. I believe that this would be an awesome video to use in conjunction with a Digital Citizenship class that you are teaching your students. I believe that this helps lay out the truth of how technology is evolving at lightning speeds, and how little control we have over what others find in our electronic online footprint. As a future educator, I believe that this video would be best suited for upper middle school to high school students.

When it comes to elementary students I believe that it is harder to teach the idea of Digital Citizenship. The issue is still there with young students using social media. Reading through The Digital Citizenship Survival Kit I realized that this article would be great and is targeted more towards the younger generation of online tech users. The author, Craig Badura, relates everyday items to digital citizenship. He has items in a baggie such as a toothbrush, padlock, and a marker. These all serve a specific reminder and are on display so that students can remember what they mean. I feel that this is a great way to communicate the importance of digital citizenship to students who might not yet understand the implications of their online actions.

I believe that all of these resources I researched are great, and I feel these all try to plant the seed of thinking before sharing information online. Something that does come up as a concern still, is the fact that in some schools social media is blocked but digital citizenship is taught. I feel as if we are not giving our students a chance to practice what we are teaching them. Yes, kids will make mistakes, heck I’m an adult and I even make mistakes but I believe we need to give them that freedom to make mistakes and learn from them. As educators and administration it is our job to connect what we teach in the classroom to the real world. I believe that this is a way to do so, and we should help our students become responsible digital users.

 

4 thoughts on “Who is Responsible?

  1. haleyhanks says:

    Hillary,
    I totally agree with how you said many students do not realize the effect content they put on line can negatively come back to them. I think it is so important for us, as future teachers, to educate our students on how to use the internet appropriately. I also enjoyed searching through all of the resources that were provided to us. Thanks for sharing!
    Haley

    Like

Leave a Reply

