Teaching is a work of heart

When I think about “passion based learning”, one of the first things that came to mind was finding substance that intrigued every student and they wanted to learn more about. After reading a few of these articles, I realized that this approach to thinking isn’t necessarily true. The way that I was taught, as well as many students today, hasn’t changed much. I’ve touched on this fact in previous blogs, that although our world is changing, our teaching methods have much stayed the same with more of an emphasis being created on high stakes testing.

I believe that this is something that has taken all of the creativity and passion out of the classroom. School districts, administrators, and teachers are all too scared to perform badly because that comes with “consequences”. If your students or teachers don’t perform to a certain level, then the teacher could be put on probation or fired. I don’t know about you, but I would be teaching right out of the text as opposed to passionately if this were the case for me. But there are ways to help put the passion back in to teaching, even if we still have high stakes testing.

As Sara Briggs mentioned in her article, 25 Ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom, making time for ourselves outside of the classroom is necessary. This may seem selfish, but if you don’t take care of and help yourself, then you can’t help the person next to you who is drowning. If we have a hobby this helps create a “safe”, peaceful, and positive place outside of our teaching world; eventually as Sara mentioned, it will find its way into our classroom.

Another great idea is letting students take control of their learning. In my blog last week, I talked about how as adults we need to seek more input from our students/children. If we allow students to express their interests and give them different ways to present ideas in those ways, then students would be much more passionate about their learning.

In, Passion-Based Learning for the 21st Century, Sheryl mentions the fact that we are obviously in a digitally and technologically advanced world, and we must take that into account when understanding our students’ passions. In this class, that’s what I feel like Shaye has done for me. I haven’t been “passionate” about my learning in very many of my classes, but this one is different, in a great way. We are able to learn, utilize, and synthesize our learning digitally and technologically in a fun and exciting way. Also, we are able to incorporate something we chose into this class, can it get much better than that?

I feel like these are two huge and amazing strategies that should be implemented in every modern day classroom. They are only two strategies, but I believe these two could completely change a classrooms students and teacher into being passionate and learning passionately. As a future teacher, it is essential that we look at these passion-based suggestions and implement them into our classrooms, and not let high stakes testing take out all the joy from our passion of teaching.

10 thoughts on “Teaching is a work of heart

  1. kelseaprieels says:

    I really liked how you said that even with this changing world, most of our teaching styles have stayed the same with an emphasis on high stakes testing. I couldn’t agree more that many teachers are teaching to the book because if their students don’t receive good scores, they could be fired. I think the school districts need to change this so that teachers can be passionate about teaching which will then help the students be passionate about learning. What is a way that you think we could implement this into our future classrooms?

    Like

  2. hillarybollish says:

    Kelsea,
    That’s a great question. I think that one of the most important things at the national level to happen for implementation to take place, is recognizing the fact that teaching and learning is not black and white. Basing a students level of “success” off of whether not not they’re proficient one time on one test is not an accurate depiction of what they have learned or are continuing to learn. I would hope that one day we can steer away from high stakes testing, and then it would be much easier to implement our own passion for the love of teaching.

    Like

  3. blogwithkel says:

    First of all…I love your title. This would be a great sign to put up in a classroom. Students should see it everyday and know that you are giving your all to relate and be there with them. Students need that reassurance that you care about them. I once wrote a ten-page research paper on the great depression. We worked on this paper for three months, correcting it, peer reviewing, and even the teacher looked at it. When it came time for grading I received a 68 percent. How is that possible after the TEACHER corrected the work several times? Students need teachers to give 100 percent effort, or they will only give half effort for the teacher’s poor interest.

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Kelly,
      You make such a sad but great point. Many times if teachers are helping “correct” papers throughout a writing process such as the one that you did, they aren’t actually putting any effort into it. I feel like part of being a successful teacher is providing good feedback, otherwise how can you expect students to learn?
      Hillary

      Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Bryan, I agree. I don’t understand how some people could just teach for the paycheck. Students need to know that you are there because you care and want to teach them. Otherwise, they will not care about their own education.

      Like

  4. haleyhanks says:

    Hillary,
    I really enjoyed reading this blog! I completely agree that students should be able to “take control of their learning” and be apart of their education. They are the ones who are going to have to use it and apply it to their own lives, so why not make them involved as much as possible? Thanks for sharing!
    Haley

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Thanks Haley, I think that this is one of the keys to have students involved and to love learning again. Yes, I agree. Because they will have to apply it in their own individual lives, they should have a say in some of the curriculum!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. vmfank says:

    Hillary,
    I agree, this class has really opened doors to endless possibilities. I have not been “passionate” about many classes here lately either. I think it is too easy to just blow through assignments, but really miss the learning opportunity. I cannot say that I love to blog, because I still struggling with opening myself up for others to read my opinions. However, blogging has made me reflect on past experiences and future adventures. Students need those same opportunities and it is wonderful that they do have access to the internet and the many resources it has to offer. I agree, let them take control of their learning.

    Like

    • hillarybollish says:

      Val,
      I agree with blogging still being a bit hard for me as well. Sometimes I feel as if I ramble because I get lost in my own thoughts sometimes. I feel as if I am becoming better with more of the practice that we are getting in this class, which I know will help with literacy and fluency in years to come.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

